Globalization

Last night, we decided to go downtown for dinner. “Downtown for dinner” in Amman is NOT like “downtown for dinner” in Toronto. In Toronto, I would dress up. In Amman, I dress down. 
There are no skyscrapers, no clubs, no pubs. No street cars, no metro stations. No Zara, Gucci, H&M. In fact there is almost no evidence of modern commercial globalization in the form of retailers or architecture or chain restaurants and stores.
It is situated on a few hills amongst ancient roman ruins and several hundred year old buildings made of limestone. The streets are narrow and winding, lively and bustling, and littered with fantastic jewelers, independent clothiers (mostly low-end imports), and souvineer shops. Downtown also contains some of the oldest, tastiest and most inexpensive restaurants designed and run for those with tighter budgets, but welcomes many tourists and those of the upper echalant of society, due to their authenticity, consistency, and fantastic flavours. 

I have to say that I have noticed a shift in the attitude and behavior of men in this town. Arab countries are generally crime-free. I think this is mainly because we have bigger problems to worry about, but also because the nature of the people is very generous, giving, and family oriented. Despite this, in the past, I would have never been out in downtown Amman at night. I would have been cat-called and would have had men “bump” into me at every other step. This time, however, no one bothered us. In fact, for the first time ever, *I* felt conservative wearing a baggy shirt and jeans. I saw several other women wearing tank tops – big deal for this city. 

So maybe, there is evidence of globalization here: in the shift in attitudes of men toward women. 

   

  
  

2 thoughts on “Globalization

Leave a comment